Pandemic Punctuation!

Diving headlong from the platforms of social media, texting, and email

my thoughts and conversation flail

as punctuation

re-purposed as faces, hearts, and other embellishment

look on.

Shortcuts have declared war on the well-written word.

The romance of nuance and tone is forgotten

as words march away to do battle with the reply and demand for constant interaction.

Paranoia has gripped me on more than one occasion when I dared use a simple period

at the end of a sentence.

Will someone think I’m not happy for them?

Will they think I’m in a bad mood if my prose isn’t peppered with exaggerated punctuation and smiley faces?

Will my love seem less sincere without hearts at the end of my sentence?

Can mere words convey meaning effectively as I multitask, interact and delegate

any skilled use of language

to the stickers and stick figures that march across a paperless landscape?

Indeed.

I remember years ago,

back in the days of typewriters and filing cabinets,

when words would gather around the fires of an idea and share stories.

They didn’t have to keep the hectic pace or combat chaos the way words do today.

There was time. Time to reflect and contemplate.

I used to love watching words get up and dance together as other words provided music.

Soul stirring.

These days, as my words have tried to dance again, I’ve discovered their muscles are weak and joints a little sore from lack of use.

The semi colon and parenthesis have become crutches that help carry their meaning across the miles;)

Though taunted by the emoticons, I press on.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. artmaker29 says:

    Words gathering around the fires of ideas to share stories…words getting up and dancing together: I love these ideas from my daughter’s blog. So well done. Like the free verse format, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was fun to write. I appreciate the encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

