What’s Inn-side

Okay, the play on words in the title is admittedly corny.  What can I say? And the picture really doesn’t do the place justice.

Last night I had to choose a place to stay in Little Rock during rush hour traffic.  I’ve never been to Little Rock.

I saw a sign for a motel chain I knew would be inexpensive and at least clean.  When I exited I couldn’t find the darn place.  I did see a nice well known inn that I thought would be affordable so I stopped.  After spending $500 on the car during this trip I couldn’t quite swing the $89 they wanted for their cheapest room.  Right next door to them was what looked to be the only other reasonable option on that street…but it looked older and generic and disappointing.

As a weary traveler I decided to just go with it.  They offered me a room at $59 for the night!  Yay!  I gathered my things from the car and schlepped up the stairs wondering what I would find behind the unimpressive door.

As I opened the door I couldn’t believe my eyes!  It was the nicest of the three rooms I had stayed in this week.  Granted it wasn’t the Ritz, but I didn’t need luxury.  I wanted quality and value, which is exactly what I got!!

Are we too quick to assess without exploration or a willingness to try the unknown?  My experience in this situation reminds me that life is full of wonderful surprises if I am willing to investigate my surroundings.

One Comment Add yours

  1. jennymarie4 says:

    Yes, and you can’t judge a book by it’s cover 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

