Love Song

The welcome escape of work this morning…Pandora Radio playing Love Song by Sara Bareilles, and I begin to feel the pulse of the city beat in my heart – energizing, dynamic, humming with life.

I find some strange comfort in thunder storms and waves crashing on the ocean shore also.  These things bigger than I am.  Beyond my control.  Why do they comfort me?  Maybe comfort is the wrong word.  I just feel like I have a place there.

I get lost in the wide open, sparsely populated slower pace of small town life.  It’s beautiful and stable.  There are times when I drink that in like the refreshing spring waters flowing from a mountain rock.  But it doesn’t ignite my imagination the way the city does.

After a very difficult day yesterday, realizing that I might rather die than be confined to the type of environment my grandmother must endure for a short time right now, I am trying to refocus on happy thoughts…as she must do daily to keep her sanity.

One of my favorite television shows growing up was “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”.  The theme song has been one of the theme songs of my life that I hum as I comfort and encourage myself…

(by Sonny Curtis)

Who can turn the world on with her smile?
Who can take a nothing day, and suddenly make it all seem worthwhile?
Well it’s you girl, and you should know it
With each glance and every little movement you show it

Love is all around, no need to waste it
You can have a town, why don’t you take it
You’re gonna make it after all
You’re gonna make it after all

How will you make it on your own?
This world is awfully big, girl this time you’re all alone
But it’s time you started living
It’s time you let someone else do some giving

Love is all around, no need to waste it
You can have a town, why don’t you take it
You’re gonna make it after all
You’re gonna make it after all

I can’t wait to toss my hat into the air while crossing a city street this winter!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. noblethemes says:

    Ah! And you will … just be sure someone takes that pic of you tossing your hat! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asking someone to do that could be as interesting an encounter as actually tossing the hat in the midst of the daily city scene!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

