Life On The Fire Escape

Today I feel.

I am much more comfortable thinking about my feelings.  Today I just feel them.

It feels like I am climbing fire escapes tending to each area of life at once so no one gets left stranded.

Right now I am at work.  It’s where I have use of a real computer as opposed to my Kindle.  I use my Kindle when I am at home.  Because of the move, however, the internet will no longer be available from home.  (I can already feel the twinges of withdrawal)  My youngest leaves for college Sunday.  We’ve been through so much together.  My 104 year old grandmother just went into the hospital last night.  After work I drive a couple of hours to see her. And our household (three of my adult children and their families) are all moving in different directions after taking a year to rent a house together and save some money.  Everything is in flux.

Change requires adaptability and patience, so I will be exercising those muscles as I traverse the fire escapes to keep up with different areas of life which simply just need my attention.  Where love meets the ladder I guess.  Time to climb…reach for it!

This blog post is for catharsis today.  If you took the time to read it, thanks.  It’s not really much other than the need to say, “Hey out there!  If I don’t blog as often or manage to participate fully in the meet n greet it’s not because I’ve changed my mind!  I’ll be back, feet on the ground on my way again soon.”

This seems to be the way life goes when you start out on a new adventure…things come up and you have to find your resolve.  So, really, it’s just a natural process taking place.  Sigh.  I need a nap.

May the joy of life be bigger than these sorrows and my heart light enough, and balance true, to dance along the fire escapes.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. masgautsen says:

    Sounds like you have a lot of things changing in your life at the moment. Very sorry about you grandmother.

    Like

    1. When I think about it, things are always changing. Of course I owe my adaptability to it. Growing pains;)
      My grandmother still has a twinkle in her eye and it was comforting to spend a couple of hours last night with her. Thanks:)

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for the support guys:) Your comments truly matter and help. So thank you. Have a great weekend as well, both of you!

    Like

  3. noblethemes says:

    Oh my! I do understand, and I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother. How awesome, though, to have lived 104 years … hoping, of course, that the vast majority of those years have been truly good ones. But then to experience what seems to be the fast flux of family life right now, too, must be rather tiring. No wonder you need a nap! 🙂 And I do hope you have rest and a good weekend, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re a beautiful writter! I can’t imagine what it will be like when my children move on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

